Challenge Stakes results play an important role in guiding the form understanding of punters over the next few months. Those horses that appear in the Challenge Stakes results usually come from a previously successful summer campaign. Challenge Stakes winners tend to go on to further success in black type racing. In 2012, Challenge Stakes winners had to contend the race over 1100m, as opposed to today’s 1000m. Challenge Stakes results reflect a very strong performance, as the horses that comprise the field are usually successful types.

Notable Challenge Stakes winners include San Domenico (1949, 1950), Zephyr Bay (1975), Razor Sharp (1982, 1983, 1984), At Sea (1985, 1986, 1987) and Snitzerland (2013).

Challenge Stakes results since 2000 are below.

Challenge Stakes Results

Year Winner Runner-Up Third Time
2017 English Redzel Supido 59.9
2016 English Kinglike Boss Lane 56.5
2015 Miracles Of Life Va Pensiero Rubick 56.7
2014 Villa Verde Snitzerland Famous Seamus 57:3
2013 Snitzerland Decision Time Howmuchdoyouloveme 56:2
2012 Rain Affair Satin Shoes Neeson 1:03.7
2011 Hay List Keen Commander Solar Charged 56:9
2010 De Lightning Ridge Dorf Command Stryker 55:9
2009 Olonana Hoystar Fantene 56:9
2008 Hurried Choice Keen Commander German Chocolate 57:4
2007 Spark Of Life Whoever Biscayne Bay 56:9
2006 Snitzel Spark Of Life Media 56:8
2005 Impaler Snippetson Charge Forward 56:3
2004 Star Of Florida Mistegic Majestic Fiesta 56:4
2003 Star Of Florida Snowland Fair Embrace 56:6
2002 Bomber Bill Mistegic Ateates 56:5
2001 Pimpala Prince Ateates Notoire 59:2
2000 Easy Rocking Ab Initio Adam 56:9